top of page

How a Fitness Journal Can Help You Crush Your Goals



Much like a food journal or food diary, a fitness journal can help keep you accountable, illustrate your goals, and show patterns in your fitness that you probably wouldn't have noticed before.


The more information you keep track of, the more you'll notice your trends, triggers, and progress. In the end, you'll be left with better results overall.


Use an old notebook or an app on your phone. Currently, I'm using a digital version of tracking that is bundled with my fitness and nutrition programs for super easy access.


In the past, I've used fitness journals that corresponded with the program I was doing. I loved both ways, paper and digital, so it's all in your preference. Both will help you succeed in crushing your goals.


So let's get journaling!


HAVE A PLAN

Don't jump in cold turkey with no plan. That is a recipe for failure and you've barely started.


Why are you starting a fitness program and journal? It's hard to get motivated and stick with something when you don't have a clear reason and goal.


Plan your workouts before you do them. Track your intensity, weights, how much rest you take, your supplements, and how you feel before and after.


FIND NEW CHALLENGES

I use weights varying anywhere from 5lbs to 25lbs, so keeping track in my head of what I used for which exercise is out of the question.


Using my journal, I can look back and see that I've been using the same 10lbs for two weeks on a particular exercise so the next week I can challenge myself by using the next heaviest dumbbells.


Challenge your limits!


FIT IT INTO YOUR SCHEDULE

Plan your program around your schedule.


Use your journal to write down how you feel before and after your workout. You may look back and see you're more motivated or have more energy a certain time of day, so you can workout at your peak.


LEARN FROM THE TOUGH WORKOUTS

Sometimes we just don't have a good workout session. Maybe your weights were too heavy, or you forgot to drink your pre-workout, or maybe you didn't get enough sleep the night before.


A fitness journal can be a reminder of the great workouts you had and your accomplishments when you're feeling low about a tough workout. Celebrate big and small victories!


Being as detailed as possible in your journal can help you come to these conclusions, giving you the opportunity to tweak your routine for better performance.


FIND THE BEST PROGRAMS FOR YOU

Your journal can be helpful when deciding whether you want to repeat a program or start a new one.


Look back to see what worked best and what didn't. Maybe you want a program that focuses more on a particular part of your body, or something to raise your endurance. It's all in the details!






Want more fitness, food, and lifestyle?

Subscribe now to my once-a-month healthy living Newsletter.





Follow me on Pinterest.


Follow me on Instagram.



bottom of page